“The Adventures of Pinocchio” by Carlo Collodi

Page 41 :

Don’t listen to those who promise you wealth overnight, my boy. As a rule they are either fools or swindlers. Listen to me and go home.

Page 53 :

“I’m boy, you see, and all boys hate medicine more than they do sickness.”

“What a shame! Boys ought to know, after all, that medicine, taken in time, can save them from much pain and even from death.”

Page 62 :

“I am laughing at those fools who believe everything they hear, and who allow themselves to be caught so easily in the traps set for them.”

“Do you, perhaps, mean me?”

“I certainly do mean you, poor Pinocchio – you who are such a little silly as to believe that gold can be sown in a field just like beans or squash. I, too, believed that once today I am very sorry for it. Today (but too late!) I have reached the conclusion that, in order to come by money honestly, one must work and know how to earn it with hand or brain.”

Page 64 :

“How unhappy I have been, and yet I deserve everything, for I am certainly very stubborn and stupid! I will always have my own way. I won’t listen to those who love me and who have more brains than I. But from now on, I’ll be different and I’ll try to become a most obedient boy. I have found out, beyond any doubt whatever, that disobedient boys are certainly far from happy, and that, in the long run, they always lose out.

Page 66 :

Hunger, my boy, is no reason to take things which belongs to another.

Page 83 :

Remember it is never too late to learn.

Page 85 :

Those bad companions will sooner or later make you lose your love for study. Some day they will lead you astray.

Page 94 :

You did me a good turn, and,in this world what is given is always returned.

